Posted by: isshino | December 3, 2008

I’m still around!

I’m back!! I know that I’ve been a bad blogger and that I’ve been neglecting all your blogs lately. I know…. I know… Bad Alien!!! I was training for a 10k race, that was supposed to be the last race of the year, but it got postponed to next year. So with nothing to train for, and a bajillion of other things to do, I have not been training as much as I used to, and also stopped blogging. I guess that the off-season bug got to me…

But since It’s the off-season, I decided to start something new (besides yoga, which I’m LOVING btw!). So I joined a scuba diving course at the university. It’s a really cool class that gives me some extra credits and also at the end of the semester I’ll get my PADI Open Water Diver certificate. And the best thing of it, I get to travel to some exotic beaches to dive there and see all kinds of marine life! I’ve done 2 trips so far.

The first one was 3 weeks ago, to Mochima, which is 7 and a half hours away from where I live. Or to be more specific, the red dot on this map:

Mochima is a really small town in the coast, people there are really friendly and they live from fishing and tourism. We stayed there on a ‘posada’, which is a really simple/rustic hotel, no commodities, nothing fancy. My room consisted of a bed and a (at least 20 year old) small TV, I didn’t have light on the room, so I had to turn on the TV to change clothes.. it didn’t even had a closet or anything to put my stuff. But well, it’s a small town in the middle of nowhere, so I can’t ask for much, and I didn’t spend much time in the room anyways… The town also has a (1) restaurant , a lady that sells hot dogs and a lady that makes ‘empanadas‘, which is a local dish that EVERYONE should try at least once in their lives! Here’s a pic of Mochima from the road to get there, what you see is everything there is, it consists of 2 streets!!


From Mochima we took a ‘peñero’, which is a small boat made by the locals, here’s a pic I took of on of the ‘peñeros’ that we took:

The ‘peñero’ took us to this BEAUTIFUL beach (I forgot it’s name)

And from the beach we would get all our gear on and go diving, the experience of breathing underwater is Awesome! And all the things you can see there is breathtaking. All the underwater life is beautiful, and it’s incredible how much you can see in half an hour underwater, you could never see so many different things anywhere else!!

The second trip was this las weekend to Morrocoy, which is 3 hours from where I live (like 1cm west from where Mochima is on the map at the begining of the post). Morrocoy is a bit more civilized than Mochima, the ‘posada’ there had a pool, directv, and this time my room did have a light!!! From Morrocoy we also took a ‘peñero’ that took us to ‘cayo norte’ (pics below), a paradise-like beach with white sand and crystal clear warm water. And form there we went scuba diving.

I hope you enjoyed reading this post, it’s not related to training, but more to scuba diving which is what I’ve been doing lately. My next trip is going to be next year to ‘Puerto la Cruz’, I’ll make sure to take some pics there too.

And about my training, well, I’m still working out, just not as much as before. I have planned most of my big races for next year, but I don’t want to say anything about it just yet. But make sure I got some BIG plans for next year!! Maybe I’ll even get to know some of my fellow bloggers on a race next year!!! We’ll see, I’ll say what the plans are when I’m sure I can make it.

Responses

  1. The pictures are beautiful! You have no idea how jealous I am! So…big races next year…I think you travel way far north and come do the Twin Cities Marathon with me!!! It is well known for its awesome spectators!!

  2. Great pictures!! I have been slowing down on training also after the knee injury I got but I am slowly coming back to running

    It’s great to see the other details of the life of the running bloggers. I enjoyed the post a lot. Maybe it is not a bad idea to go to Venezuela for vacations in the near future!!

  3. Hey there Alien, I knew you’d be back, it was just a matter of time. Now I see how well spent your time off/away was. can you tell me what it’s like living in what I consider paradise-weather, and with such beautiful beaches?!

    I’m so glad you liked the new picture on my blog, I can tell you are another water lover like me (I like looking at it, not necessarily swimming in it, ha ha ha.)

    I can’t wait to hear of your BIG PLANS!!! Tell us, tell us, tell us!!!

    Good to have you back, Alien.


Leave a Reply

Categories

